Love Defined

“And now I will show you the most excellent way…” 1 Corinthians12:31

 

As a godly lady-in-waiting, love should be of great abundance in you. Jesus summed up the entire Word in His command to love. I have heard that love is the only force powerful enough to turn an enemy into a friend. And when it comes down to it – love means everything. Jesus Christ is love defined. In John it says that there is no one greater than the one who lays down his life for his friends. Christ died for us all – showing us his sacrificial, infallible, merciful, unfailing love. If we truly put in perspective what Jesus did for us – we really begin to see what love in its purest form is.

Often times the story of how Jesus came to earth, lived a sinless life, did some miracles, was betrayed, died on a cross and rose again on the third day becomes just that – a story. All power seems to be lost in this beautiful portrayal of the amazing love that God has for us. Put this in perspective! Really think on what the sacrifice was. I dare you to go read through the story of the crucifixion. Read from the Last Supper all the way through Jesus rising on the 3rd day. Read it slowly. Take some time. I want you to really dwell on what is happening.

See the humility as Jesus washes his disciple’s feet – including the one who He knew would later that night betray Him for thirty pieces of silver. What an act of service that so portrays the way that Jesus came to earth not to be served, but to serve. He came from realms of glory and made himself the lowest of the low taking the form of a servant so that we might not die but live with Him for eternity. What an unselfish act of love.

It is this love that often gets to me. Reflecting on how great his love truly is, I am in awe. I cannot even wrap my mind around it! He left His most high place in heaven to come to this earth to redeem us all. He suffered every pain there is, he was tempted like we are, he was loved, he was hated, and although he was 100% God, he was also 100% man. He had pain. He had suffering. He had emotions. He was perfect. He never sinned, but he became sin so that we might be saved.

Go back to your reading. See Him in the garden praying. See Him crying out to God to “take this cup from me…” He knew what would happen to Him. Jesus knew what would come to pass that night. His sweat was as blood. This man knew what it was to have the full weight of the world on His shoulders. He prayed to God that if there be another way, then to do that. But then he says these words that changed everything for us, “Not my will, Father, but your will be done.” The ultimate sacrifice is the very life He gave – the life that he willingly gave. He knew the suffering involved. He knew the cost. But He loved us so much that we were worth His very blood.

Read on and see how he was beaten, mocked and scorned. He was made to carry the cross on which he was crucified. A crown of thorns was pressed into His head making his head bleed even more than the beating that he endured had. And then as His blood poured to the earth we were redeemed. And when He gave up His Spirit, everything changed. The greatest gift of love came as a sacrifice; he came to endure the punishment that we deserved – and He did no wrong. It was purely love.

Praise Him for His love right now. Be in awe of the love that He has for you. Isn’t it amazing? His love is everything. I can go on and on about how great His love is. But in no way can we even fathom how remarkable it really is. Our minds simply cannot wrap around such a love. But this is the love that we hold in our hearts. In 1 John it puts everything in perspective for us. In the most simplified form – God is love. There is no greater love than He, because He is the true definition.

The closer we get to God, the more we will begin to understand what love is and the more that we will be filled with this great love. 1 Corinthians 13 outlines love in this way.

“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have the faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, and always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child. I though like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

And now these three things remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

Upon reading that, what is the conclusion that you come to? What is love? What does love do? What does love mean? Are you by these standards a loving person? A godly lady-in-waiting loves without reserve. Love is perhaps the most important quality here, because if you love – then everything else falls right into place.

First and foremost – your love for God will show in your lifestyle. This is shown in John 14:15“If you love me, you will obey my commands.” And in John 14:21 where it says, “Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.” And again in John 14:23 – “Jesus replied, ‘If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.” This is again repeated in John 15:10 which says: “If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love.” Again in 1 John 2:3 it says “We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands.” And in 2 John 1:6 it says, “And this is love: that we walk in obedience to his commands. As you have heard from the beginning, his command is that you walk in love.”

All of these verses repeat over and over again how we live out our love for God – by obedience. How better to love than to know what the Word says for us to do? The Bible tells us how to love. You read earlier in this chapter about how love is patient. It is kind. It is not jealous. It is not rude or self-centered. It is not quick to anger. It does not keep track of wrong-doings. Love rejoices in the truth. Love protects. Love trusts. Love hopes. Love perseveres. And ultimately – love never fails.

When you love, you work your hardest to do your very best in everything.

When you love, you do well with your relationships and with the people around you.

When you love, you walk with God.

When you love, you walk out who God is.

Living a life of love is one of the keys to becoming not only a godly lady-in-waiting, but a godly woman. I encourage you this week to think on how you can walk in love.

God’s blessings and abundant love be with you,

 

Brittany Lee Ketter (1 Peter 3:4)

Leave a Reply

