Portrait of My Mother


Today we are celebrating the wonderful and blessed gift we have in my mother. (HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MOMMA!)

I have been trying to write this post for weeks now, but the words don’t easily come. I mean, how could I condense my mother into a little post? (Please, go try it – it’s not easy!) There is just so much that she is and does that it is impossible to write it all here or to even sum it up short. (I know how much she loves long stories 😛 )

Anyways, I am going to do my best to give a portrait of my mother, so here goes.

She appears to simply be a wife and a stay-at-home mother of five kids. But appearances can be deceiving. She is so much more than that. Mom could be a super hero – part teacher, part chef, part cleaner, part FBI agent, part accountant, part baby sitter, part ____ (fill in the blank here). Mom’s do it all. (Especially mine!) She’s more than just a wife and mother. She’s everything we’ve ever needed her to be and more.

Momma is always there. Whether you want her that moment or not, she’s there. It doesn’t matter what you do or don’t do, she still loves you. There isn’t an earthly love that can surpass a mother’s love.

Momma is an amazing woman and I’ve seen that more and more as I’ve grown older. She became more than just my mom, she became a friend as well. Who can really say the day my mom became my friend? Well, I can’t even tell you because I’m not certain myself. But there comes a time when it’s not just mother to child, but woman to woman. (Granted there still are those mother to child moments…I haven’t grown up that much yet!)

Mom is the voice of reason. Usually it pays to listen to her.

Momma sets an example with the way she lives. Her priorities are in line, she keeps her house in good order. She loves God and has always taught us His word. Watching her has blessed me in so many ways! I know that so much of who I am now is because of who she is and her influence in my life.

I wish I could better put who my mother is into words. But truth is, I can’t put her into words because words aren’t enough….but I pray my life will show for who she is and that through her example, I could rightly show the great woman she is.

I am so proud to be her daughter and she has no idea how much so! (And I really AM her daughter…trust me, it shows. 🙂 ) I want to be a portrait of my mother someday. I admire and love the woman she is and couldn’t be more proud of her!

Happy Birthday, Momma! I love you so much!

Have the best day and let this be the best year you’ve ever had!

Love always,

Brittany Lee Ketter

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mimi
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 09:27:57

    Ok, so did this make her cry? I don’t know how she could have read this and NOT, but that too is your momma! She’s been my hero for many, many years and even though she’s my niece…I listen to her too! She is a wise woman with a beautiful spirit and I love her dearly. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

