When Love Came Down…

I thought I knew love.

I really believed that I knew what the love of God really was.

I was wrong.

The love of God is far more than I had ever experienced…and now I finally see that it is so much more than I ever believed. I have experienced this love in such a way that I never had before and I am not sure I could fully express it. Love so divine – it has engulfed my soul. This love reaches beyond expression or comprehension. And having experienced this love is such a great way, my thoughts are on that day when love came down…

More times than I’m willing to say I have found my thoughts going over what it was like for Mary to know that she was carrying the Son of God, the one who would redeem the world. What was it like to look into that newborn face and know that you were looking into the very eyes of God-incarnate? Such an expression of love that God became a man – that He set aside His royalty to become a servant. What an expression of love. So self-less and so pure…It amazes me.

As Christmas is upon us, have you placed your thoughts on that night when love came down?

Often times, I believe that this story becomes so familiar that we begin to miss the power in it. But this one day changed the world forever. Too much we think of the Christmas story as, “Jesus was born of virgin Mary in Bethlehem and shepherds came to worship him followed later by some wise men and they brought Him gifts and worshiped Him recognizing that He was the King of Kings. The end.”

This story is so much more than that. And the love that was demonstrated here, I am amazed. His love is extravagant!

 

 

Do you think of the night that Love came down?

When the Son of God laid down His crown,

and came to earth, with us to dwell –

His name was called Emanuel.

 

While shepherds keep their sheep,

Angelic hosts to them greet

And tell them of the babe that was born

in Bethlehem – who is Christ the Lord.

 

They find the manger where He lay,

and bowed down to worship Him.

The shepherds then spread the word,

people were amazed at what they heard.

 

Later came wise men who followed the star

bringing gold, frankincense and myrrh from afar.

On finding their long-sought King of the Jews,

they then, worshiped Him too.

 

There is more to the story,

Oh, the glory!

To think of the thoughts of how

it was that night when  love came down.

~~~~~~~

MERRY CHRISTMAS! 

 8 And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. 9 An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. 10 But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people. 11 Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord. 12 This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.”

Luke 2:8-12 (NIV)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 06:12:14

    Yes, I constantly remember “when love came down”. God cared so much that He wanted to bestow the most precious gift He could think of: life. His son, Jesus, a baby in the manger, our hope for a better future, our salvation, the love that keeps on giving.

    Reply

  2. leeleegirl4
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 08:17:13

    The truth about Christmas is more than we can imagine because God is far greater than we can imagine. Merry Christmas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

