What Are You Waiting For? – An Interview with Author Dannah Gresh & GIVEAWAY!

The winner of the giveaway has been selected and notified. Please feel free to comment still and join the discussion! ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

I have had the privilege of interviewing Dannah Gresh, best-selling author of And the Bride Wore White, 5 Little Questions That Reveal the Life that God Designed For You, The Secret of the Lord, and multiple others including What Are You Waiting For?: The One Thing No One Ever Tells You About Sex which we are talking about today. She is the co-founder of the ministry Pure Freedom. Dannah is a wonderful woman with a great message which she shares unashamedly and in the direct way that today’s young women need to hear.

Brittany: If you could sum up your goal in writing What Are You Waiting For? in one sentence, what would it be?

Dannah: I want today’s young women to have a sexual judge on which to base their sexuality.

We can’t just make decisions, we need to know what God’s intentions are for us.

Brittany: In What Are You Waiting For? you mention “a greater revelation of a much deeper love.” How would you describe this greater love?

Dannah: Itโ€™s the all-consuming everything-we-hope-for dream-of-love. This love between God and us is the most beautiful banquet table, and we get it so mixed up with mud pies.

Brittany: So many girls are acting out on their want and desire for attention and “love” and the results of pursuing that can be devastating. What is the greatest factor that they are missing?

Dannah: Probably at the core of it they don’t know who they are in Christ. They reach out for the mud pie because they don’t know they are a princess who has been invited to a love feast with the king.

Brittany: What is the biggest misconception that young women have that is addressed in your book?

Dannah: They don’t think sex is going to hurt them. Because it is so common and casually treated that they don’t understand it hurts when it is misused. We are designed to be monogamous and when we are not in a monogamous relationship we need to heal.

Brittany: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Dannah: I am burdened for the 20-something culture to muscle up on the theology of sexuality. We gotta muscle up!

Thank you, Dannah for being with us and sharing more on a biblical view of sex and sexuality.

Check out Dannah’s website at: http://purefreedom.org/

Also check out her blog where she posts “unashamed answers about sex, beauty and girlhood: http://purefreedom.org/

And finally, to enter for a chance to win an autographed copy of Dannah’s What Are You Waiting For? The One Thing No One Ever Tells You About Sex comment on this post leaving your name, age, and a comment about how having a healthy and biblical view of sex and sexuality applies in becoming a “godly lady-in-waiting”.

NOTE: As this is written to an older audience (mainly senior high and college girls) I would recommend it for the audience to which it is written and no younger than that.

So…one last thing:

What are you waiting for?

NOTE: winner will be chosen at random by generator on Friday, February 3, 2012 and will be notified here and via email.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 14:33:45

    Ohhh awesome Brittany! You’re so luckyy! I’ve never read this book, but I want to!
    I’ve always wondered- does senior high mean like highschool? Haha not a senior, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰ well either way, you decide. I’m almost 16 ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Sooo I think that a proper view on sex and purity is so important, especially now! Today’s culture we are told that it is all about us and what we want. Therefore, immorality is viewed as even more than okay–it’s pressured! But if we have a wrong view on sex and what not, how can we keep ourselves pure? And that’s important! But now, as the media throws wrong messages about sex left and right, it’s hard to not be desensitised (spelling? Haha) toward the seriousness of it. We can be easily sucked into thinking that these things aren’t thatttt bad…. But being a godly, waiting woman means purity. We can’t be pure without having the proper, Biblical view of it.

    But it’s awesome u got an interview with her! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

    • Brittany Ketter
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 12:46:41

      Kristin,
      It is such a great book! I do have a review on it in my “book reviews” tab on this site.
      Yes, high school. And you are eligible. Spread the word! I will have the winner randomly selected on Friday. ๐Ÿ™‚
      You make some very good points there! Thank you for commenting Kris!

      Blessings!

      Reply

  2. Ashley
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 20:17:15

    Hey Brittany!! Wow wonderful post!
    Ya waiting for the “right guy” is sooo hard sometimes. I dont know if you’ll remember me from before [Ashley) But i still always read your blogs!!! I have been just so busy lately. But just two weeks ago i turned my life fully over to God. No more of just half of me but All of me! I feel like my world is spinning again! ๐Ÿ™‚ And this post is great timing! Do remember before when i told you that i was going to get married once and then it ended, but now i just found out he’s getting married to someone else. lol so ya this post just reminded me to wait on God and not on my own feelings!
    Oh and I would Love to read this book!!! I’m almost 20 ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!! Have a great night!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

    • Brittany Ketter
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 12:49:00

      Ashley!

      Hey girl! Thank you so much! And yes I totally remember you – in fact, I never forgot. I was just thinking about e-mailing you the other day! But it has been so crazy here at school I never really go the chance to do it. Thank you for reading my blogs! That means so much!

      That is so exciting that you turned really turned your life fully over to God now! Really that is so awesome and I am so proud of you!! Yes, wait on God, sweet!

      Hope to catch up soon!

      Blessings to you!

      Reply

  3. Tamal Lindsay
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 19:54:15

    Brittany,
    Reading the Book “What are you waiting for?” was such an “Ahha” moment for me! Being that I am closer to the 40’s rather than college age, I actually had closure for some of my past.
    When I won this book from a radio station in our area ( for signing up for Pure Freedom!!) it was originally going to be for our daughter (17) to read. When I seen what the context was going to be about I decided that I should read it first. I’m glad that Dannah has the courage to adrress these things, as I think the media and pressures of this world send such distorted messages. It makes perfect sense to me now! Although I do still have some questions myself, I think that this book has brought up some great questions our daughter had but maybe didn’t know to ask.
    I would love to win another book ๐Ÿ™‚ I have several friends that could benifit from this book. Yes, women over 40! I think the way that Dannah shares her excitment for something that should be special and sacred is refreshing. We are in the process of getting a group of women to pray over us for healing as described in this book!
    Thank you for your blog. I really want to find other resourses to some of my questions regarding this subject.If you could help me or point me in the right direction I’d be greateful:)
    Respectfully,
    Tamal Lindsay

    Reply

    • Brittany Ketter
      Feb 10, 2012 @ 15:25:37

      Tamal,
      I love that testimony! Dannah’s message is powerful and I’m certain she will be thrilled to hear how it has touched your heart! ๐Ÿ™‚
      That is so wonderful to hear about your journey to healing. It really is a process and as I already stated, it’s a journey. You have to walk in it — and God is always faithful to be there all the way through.
      Thank you for your kind words! And you are most welcome! Thank you for reading! If you want to e-mail me, I am certain I’d have plenty of sources, but I need to know a little more specifically what you would want first. brittany.ketter@gmail.com and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

      Blessings!

      Brittany

      Reply

  4. Michaela Von Trapp
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 15:44:27

    For the future, how do I enter a contest?
    I just found this blog today on the Faith, Fashion, and Football and so far I love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    • Brittany Ketter
      Feb 19, 2012 @ 22:05:02

      Hi Michaela!

      You enter a contest by commenting answering the question at the bottom of the post. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thank you for reading! Hope you will be blessed by it!!

      Blessings!

      Reply

  5. Michaela
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 11:41:57

    Thank you! :~)
    That is so much easier than posting on FB and getting more entries than someon else! :~)

    Reply

    • Brittany Ketter
      Feb 20, 2012 @ 13:25:33

      You are most welcome! ๐Ÿ™‚

      There will be another contest coming up soon. (Probably mid-march or around there. So keep watching!)

      Reply

  6. Michaela
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 11:35:59

    Cool! Thanks for the notice! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Get Lost: Your Guide to Finding True Love – Book Review | Single Seasons ~ Lady-in-Waiting

Leave a Reply

