Daylight Savings and Self- Discipline

About a month ago I tried out an experiment that went on for about two weeks. In this experiment I went to bed every night of the week that I possibly could at 9:30 and would have my alarm set for 6 the following morning. When I did this, I always woke up before the alarm. Sometimes an hour before, sometimes even earlier than that. These two weeks were about discipline. Instead of doing my homework really late into the night like i had become accustomed to, I now worked on it first thing in the morning and maybe read some of it before I went to bed. In doing this test of discipline my Bible study time in the mornings was not only longer, but I was much more awake and ready to receive what God had for me. Also, I was much less stressed and all together much happier and more productive person.

You might be wondering where I am going with this. Just stick with me. It might seem like I was going to bed really early (which compared to my typical 2 a.m. bedtime it was), but it was wonderful! I was waking up before my alarm – meaning I got the amount of sleep that my body needed. I was much more productive with my mornings before heading to class. Deciding to discipline myself in just that one area made a whole new life-style for me. I was getting more done and having it done right. I was feeling better and more awake.

Something that I really see in this verse in Proverbs 31 is the self-discipline that this woman has. Just this week we had our daylight savings time and had to “spring forward”. Some of us are still trying to catch up on that hour of sleep that was lost! I still miss having the sun shining through my window in the morning, but everything was working out so much better when I disciplined myself to sleep. I dare you to try this out like I did. This is something that I want to continue. As many nights of the week as possible, I want to be in bed by 9:30 and so I will feel refreshed and ready to go when 5am comes. Try it out! Comment back here and let me know how that goes. Changing just that little habit of staying up too late can change your whole routine and increase your productivity and could possibly even improve your time with God and just in hearing from Him.

This goes beyond just self-discipline, but even into faithfulness. Sometimes, being faithful could mean not hitting that “snooze” button one more time. This verse exhibits a woman who is faithful and who has such a love for the Lord that it overflows into a love to serve her family. Faithful. Self-Disciplined.

Starting next week, I’m getting back to this! Be sure to share your thoughts!

Have an abundantly blessed week in the Lord!

~Brittany L. Ketter

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michaela Von Trapp
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 10:13:12

    I have been trying to stay up late and take advantage of the quiet in the house and get my Bible reading done, as well as my journal writing! Thanks for encouraging journal writing. I really enjoy it!
    Thanks for the blog post as well! I really appreciate it! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

