Fireworks! – Guest Post by Heather Rabold

Sometimes, I feel that the church of today has a relatively easy time worshiping God and thanking Him for His goodness.  However, the church struggles to find the motivation to serve Him with a selfless heart.

For example, ask yourself these questions:  Is it easy for me to worship through song?  Is it easy to spend some time in scriptures and prayer?  Is it easy for me to thank God before I eat?  Is it easy to remember Christ’s life and death through communion?  Then, challenge yourself further with these:  Is it easy for me to give up my own time to help/encourage others?  Is it easy to stop and pray with the girl that is crying in the bathroom?  Is it easy to have spiritual conversations with strangers about God?  Is it easy to give up your Starbucks coffee so that you can give money to the hungry?

Essentially, both sets of questions are about the worship of God, because they follow the two greatest commandments to love God with everything and love others as yourself.  However, I have noticed that we often (not always, but often!) feel the desire to love God personally before we have the desire to love the broken world around us.  It is easy to love someone that faithfully loves us despite our mistakes, but it is hard to love others that may judge or persecute us.  It is easy to love someone that has loved you first, but it’s harder to love those that are too broken to love.

These thoughts came as I was singing a song that essentially said, “We want to be your hands and feet,” and I shamefully admitted to God that although I wanted to want this, my deeper desires are selfishly for my own comfort and enjoyment in life.  As I was asking God to provide in me and in the church the desire to serve others, I felt completely empty.  I confessed my pride and begged God to change me, to give me a new heart.

That’s when I saw the fireworks.  Literally.  I asked God what the fireworks represented, and I recognized that the tiny vessels that carry those majestic lights into the sky are so small and insignificant that they are barely seen against the darkness of the night.  However, when the vessels finally break open, they are sacrificed so that a glorious light can be seen.  Powerful sparks and booming sound is released.  Those tiny, worthless vessels held the potential of power and awe within them.  The fireworks were ready to be released, if only those vessels would break. 

Not that I’m trying to say that we are thin shells that God wants to BLOW UP, but God wants us to break down our pride and be under the submission of God.  He wants to break through our selfishness so that His incredible power can be shown through our own weaknesses, so that His light can be on display to the world, and so that His power will overcome our insignificance.  God wants to work through us.  We just have to be willing to let go, to break down our selfishness, and to allow God’s power and will to explode in and through us.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michaela Von Trapp
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 10:05:35

    🙂

    Reply

  2. icetealover2
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 06:15:23

    You are right, we need to stop and listen to God and hear what he is saying to us. WE can’t put ourselves first and others last.

    Reply

  3. icetealover2
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 06:16:48

    You are right in saying we need to stop and listen to what God has to say to us. He is there for us to guide us and to help us. We also need to remember there are others out there who need help too, and in reaching out, we create those fireworks you are talking about, of expressing God’s love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

