What is Keeping You?

“You can’t do everything”

That is exactly what my mother was attempting to teach me for quite some time. To be truthful, I do not believe I ever fully learned that. Sometimes, I still try to do it all, but choices must be made. There are some things that I can do, and others either had to be put down, or laid aside for a more opportune time to come around.

Sometimes my ambition gets the best of me. I would LOVE to do everything!

I want to:

-Write

-Dance

-Spend time with my family

-Help with the children’s ministry

-Help with the youth ministry

-Help with the women’s ministry

-Volunteer at the ministry center

-Go to Back Yard Bible Study (Our church midweek service)

-Work

-Go to school

-Hang out with my friends

-Book club

-Group Bible study

-Visit churches and go to special services

-My Writers Program I teach at the Library

-Go to India

-Go to Haiti

-Go to Israel

-See the world

-Complete my dream list

The list goes on, but I won’t bore you with it. The point is I cannot do it all as much as I try to. There is a time, a place and a season for everything. One day I will get to do all these things. But not all of them need to be done right now.

Ecclesiastes 3:1 says:

“For everything there is a season, a time for every purpose under heaven.” (KJV)

All of these things I have listed that I want to do are good things. Many of them I already do or am involved with. However, I have come to see that sometimes I held on to something so long and something else would come that I also wanted to do and I was not able to do both. I’d try to juggle them both or I’d just hold on to what was already a “good” thing that I had been doing. While in school, Joanie Jarrett, missionary to Scotland came to speak with our class. Something she said that day really stuck with me:

“It’s not the bad things in life that keep you from the good things. It is the good things in life that keep you from God’s best.” 

Wow.

That is pretty profound. And I did find that it very well applied and was true in my life. It got me thinking, how often did I let the good things keep me from what might have been God’s  best for me.

How can this apply to you?

What good things are keeping you from what could possibly be God’s best for you?

Is it an activity?

Is it a relationship?

Take some time this week and examine yourself. What could you be doing more of? What could you be doing less of? And do you need to do a little less”doing” and a little more “being”? What could you be doing or being that is most purposeful?

Wishing you God’s best!

~Brittany L. Ketter

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. icetealover2
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 09:37:16

    It’s true, we seem to want to do so much and yet we forget that our time is limited and can’t spread ourselves too thin. Have to break everything down into smaller tasks to make them more manageable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

