No Shades of Grey

Image

This is a post that has been on my heart long before 50 Shades of Gray was even published. In the midst of it’s ever-increasing popularity rate, which I find to be quite alarming in Christian circles especially, I figured that there is no better time like the present to share these thoughts that have been stirring in me for quite some time now.

Compromise.

I see a lot of that these days. I would be lying if I said I haven’t done it myself. We know the difference between what is right and what is wrong. A very good friend of mine pointed out to me at one point:

Sometimes we may not know what the right is, but we always know what is wrong.

I have tested this and found it to be very true. As Christians, we should be living our lives with a higher standard. We compromise so much and more often than we think. These days it is hard to find a TV show or a movie to see that we don’t have to compromise in some ways. Maybe there is just a few choice words but the rest of the movie is perfectly fine. Maybe there is a scene or two that is inappropriate but other than that it is OK.

As soon as we place those “buts” in there we find ourselves in the gray area of compromise.

You are called to a higher standard.

A common and well-known passage of scripture that displays what should be our standard is found in Philippians 4:8:

“Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthymeditate on these things.” (NKJV) (emphasis mine)

Would 50 Shades be able to hold to this standard?

Would that movie you have been wanting to see hold to this standard?

How about that song that you “just like the beat” to?

Would your life choices hold to this standard?

As a godly lady-in-waiting you must hold to a higher standard than the world offers and step out of the gray area of compromise. Titus 2:7 says this:

“in all things showing yourself to be a pattern of good works; in doctrine showing integrity, reverence, incorruptibility…”

Continuing into verses 11-13 we read:

“11 For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men, 12 teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly in the present age, 13 looking for the blessed hope and glorious appearing of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ”

I urge you to walk worthy of the calling with which you were called – a young woman of God. We are not meant to live by the standards of this world, but by the truth given to us. We are called to live a life of purity.

So next time you go to pick up that book, watch that show/movie or listen to that song, check your standards:

Is it:

  • True?
  • Noble?
  • Just?
  • Pure?
  • of good report?
  • virtuous?
  • praiseworthy?

Our influence is destroyed by compromise. Our compromise can also cause others to stumble. What are some gray areas in your life that you need to step out of?

I’m open to discussion:

  1. What are your thoughts on compromise and those little gray areas we end up in?
  2. Do you find to be true that you do not always know what is right, but you always know what is wrong? Explain.

Bless,

Brittany L. Ketter

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carole Lee (Nana)
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 19:09:43

    Compromise is one of the most difficult things to overcome in the christian walk. Reading this has reminded me of the pure life that I am called to lead. It is impossible to live this life without walking with Jesus every step of the way. I have been a christian since I was 29 years old. I am now 65. Brittany, my heart is just like yours.,…a heart on fire for the Lord Jesus. Have I always walked close and never disobeyed? No. Does it grieve me to think how many times I went my own way? Yes. You absolutely cannot live a holy, uncompromising life without constant prayer and being in HIS precious Word every day. You will stray. You will compromise. I start my conversation with Jesus as soon as I get up in the morning and it goes all day long until I lay my head on that pillow at night. In recent years, the Lord even wakes me up to talk to me. This is the most precious time of all. Just the two of us, all alone with my bible in one hard and tablet in the other. As much as you will love your husband and children, there is still no better love that this.

    Reply

  2. Holly Michael
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 17:02:49

    Wow, this is the best, most well written, true-to-the heart post for Christians about Shades of Gray. Well said!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

