Right Here. Right Now. You.

Something that I heard a lot about at school was being faithful where you are. I am not going to lie. I am a big dreamer. I know the goals I have in life and I pursue them with everything I got in me. When I have a spare moment, I’m probably working towards achieving my biggest dreams and goals. However in my task-oriented and dreaming ways I lost sight of something very important – what is right in front of me.

Dreaming is not a bad thing. Working towards my dreams is not a bad thing. However, when your dreams and pursuits become more important than where you’re at, there is a problem there.

We are made to dream, but we are also meant to live.

This summer this truth has been hitting me more and more. For example, one of my dreams is to minister in India and see revival strike there. Now, if I focus all my energies on getting there for that one dream, that one experience – I miss out on the people that are already in my circle of influence who are right in front of me. It is good to dream. It is good to pursue. But never let the pursuit and the dream be more important to you than the place where God has you now.

This summer I’ve learned so much about being faithful where I’m at – in the little things.

I’ve learned to be faithful in my jobs – doing everything with a standard of excellence.

I’ve learned to be faithful in my church – serving in the areas that God has blessed me to be a part of and not pushing myself to do everything for the sake of doing everything and just because I feel a call to it. There is a season for everything, and right now, this season is being faithful to be.

When you are faithful with little, you will be faithful with much.

Sometimes, I think we see that backwards. Like when we are given little, our excuse for not being faithful with it is because it is not so important. But if we were given something big, then we would be faithful in it. This is what I observe as the standard thought process. But being faithful where you are – even if it doesn’t look like or feel like much is actually making the greatest impact than if you are pursuing and trying to be faithful to the dreams that haven’t yet been accomplished.

You are in this season for a reason. There is something divine set aside for you in this season – something that only you can touch and make an impact with or receive. Don’t miss it by focusing so much on the future. Be faithful where you are at. That is where you will impact the most.

Dream. But don’t forget to BE.

God is so faithful and He will fulfill every work in you that He has promised – just be faithful where you are and leave the rest to Him.

The faithfulness of the Lord endures!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Carole Lee (Nana)
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 19:32:38

    You are so blessed to be learning this lesson early in life. For most of us, it comes later on. Once you grab a hold of it, that “there is a season for everything”, the peace of the Lord will fill you from the top of your head to the soles of your feet. This is one of the things that Jesus meant when he said to rest in HIM. You can rest, Brittany, knowing HE is in charge, not you. Obedience is better than sacrifice. You are sacrificing some of your dreams right now, putting them on the shelf for just a little while, while the Lord teaches you and prepares you for great things. You are a wise young woman. Love, Nana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

