Nurture – Guest Post by Carole Lee

I love the word “NURTURE”. Not too many years ago the Lord showed me that I have nurtured (mentored) others most of my life. It started when I was 12 years old; caring for my sisters after my father died and my mother was stuck in the grieving process.  I just took charge.

Mentoring seems to be a lost art in the church today, yet we are commanded by scripture to be mentors.  Titus 2 tells us that the older women are to teach the younger women – nurture them. When I got a hold of the true meaning of this scripture, it changed me forever.

As one who has reached her golden years, I find myself busier than ever.  Just because you retire from your job doesn’t mean that you retire from life…or the church. I have found this to be an exciting season in my life. There are so many things I have learned over the years that I am bursting to share with young women. I was fortunate to have a godly mother and grandmother that were always there for me. When I became a Christian, there was a wonderful older woman in the church that took me under her wing. I was so blessed to have lots of mentoring. Now it is my turn to pass it on.

The Lord called me to start a mentoring ministry in my church. Some of us more seasoned saints have taken hold of the charge God has given us to bless our teen girls. We are teaching them practical things and spiritual things. We have come together, the young and the old, in the unity the Lord wants in His church.

Think about this for a minute: Can you be a friend? Are you a good listener? Do you have a servant’s heart? Are you willing to open up and share what God is doing in your life? Are you willing to intercede for a young woman? If so, then you are a mentor. I believe that God has given his daughters nurturing spirits.  As a mother, I have never stopped nurturing my children and now have the joy of nurturing my grandchildren.

God has given us several examples of mentoring in His Word, some of which include:

  • Naomi to Ruth
  • Elizabeth to Mary

Mary and Ruth both treasured their relationship with these older women.  It is the way the Lord intended these relationships to be, a mutual love and respect; the older women imparting wisdom to the young ones.

You don’t have to be perfect. You only need to be willing. Women of God, I challenge you to think about the commission God has given in Titus 2.

Carole Lee is married to her high school sweetheart and has 2 children and 8 grandchildren. She loves to nurture and share the love of God. Carole is a firm believer in the promises of God and stands watching with anticipation knowing that He who began a good work will be faithful to complete it. She loves this season in her life and cannot wait to see what else God will do! 

Leave a Reply

