Waiting Past Midnight

Growing up, when it came to thinking about when my Mr. Knightly would come, I never thought it would be a fairy tale. Although I did not expect Cinderella, I seem to have subconsciously given myself a deadline in which He should be here by. Now, at 20 years old I find myself to be waiting past midnight.

I am nowhere near where I dreamed I would be at this age. Growing up, had you asked me, I would have said I’d be married at 18 and I expected by age 20 to have started a family. But here I am still waiting and dreaming and longing – although I rarely have time for that. For the longest time I believed that life really began at “I do”.

I was wrong.

I came across this quote by Elisabeth Elliot one day that really turned my way of thinking:

“Single life may be only a stage of a life’s journey, but even a stage is a gift. God may replace it with another gift, but the receiver accepts His gifts with thanksgiving.”

My singleness is a gift.

Yes, you read that right. My singleness is a gift. As much as a may dream about married life or where I thought I would be now, I am confident that I am right where God wants me. I am enjoying this single season in my life. It is a gift in such a way that I am free to do, be and act accordingly to that which I feel God calling me to.

In this stage, I am called to walk with God and let Him be all He is to me so that I can be all He called me to be. In this stage of life’s journey, being single allows me to serve and go places that I may not be able to as the same capacity when I am in another stage of life and my responsibility is my husband and family.

So while I sometimes feel like I am waiting past midnight, I recognize the gift that I have in this season and the beauty and blessings that are part of walking in it. I’m no Cinderella, and my life is not a fairy tale, but in this chapter of my life can say a lot about how my story goes.

Next chapter!

Are you waiting past midnight? How is your singleness a gift?

Leave a Reply

