21 Days of Never-the-Same – Day 18

pastor

Pastor Jeff Marshall and his wife Cathy – New Day Assembly of God, Upper St. Clair, PA

When I look back, I realize change is a good thing. I am not a big fan of change unless I am the one who is controlling it – and with that, there being a good reason for the change. But there have been times in my life where looking back, it was change that allowed me to be who I am today. I’ve written about a lot of different things thus far…and a lot of them have much to do with a change that came about 8-9 years ago.

I grew up in a non-denominational church…then after all those years and memories, God called us out and brought us to New Day. I did not want to leave where I had grown up and will admit I did not have a good attitude about visiting other churches for the time that we did. God was good to us though, and from the start there was something about New Day. I loved it right away.

The years I have been there shaped so much of who I am today. Pastor Jeff is such a wonderful shepherd of His congregation and he and his wife, Cathy, have set within the church an atmosphere of family. It is home. It is warm. And it is where I began to see Jesus with my own eyes and where my faith became my own – not just something I was raised in or taught, but something that makes up who I am even today. I believe no matter where God may call me I will always carry a bit of New Day DNA in me.

There are so many defining moments that come to mind from New Day. I grew up there. Those people are like family to me.

God has met me at that altar numerous times when I took a step of faith and came forward.

I learned what it is to worship in spirit and truth and even to have a freedom to do so through dance.

I have been blessed with incredible people in my life who have poured into me and been an example to me in my faith-walk.

I have witnessed the mark of the ministry in this church.

It was here that I was baptized in the Holy Spirit.

It was here that I practically lived some years, being there almost every time the doors were open.

It was here that God met me and changed my life forever…a new day, a new chapter…

So much of that is because a man was obedient to the call of God on His life…even when things got hard, he didn’t quit. He is a man so compelled by the love of Christ that he stands where he is today. Thank you, Pastor Jeff and Cathy for obeying the call of God to shepherd the people of New Day. You are all like family to me and an immense blessing in my life. Thank you for all you’ve done and for standing strong and waiting on God even when most people would have quit. I honor your place in my life and I thank God for you often. Love and Blessings!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deidre
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 23:41:30

    Wonderful testimony! We’re blessed at New Day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

