2013 – More to Be!

Nothing says “Happy New Year!” like cleaning out my room and diving in to years of memories! A chore that shouldn’t have taken me more than an hour ended up taking me the better part of the day…and part of the evening as well. Today, on this first day of 2013, I again walked through the years that have led me to where I am.

MemoriesI got to watch myself grow up through years of journal entries and pictures and letters – all of which acting as triggers releasing a flood of memories. Memories allow us to re-live where we’ve been. Some of those things made me smile, and others made me laugh. And still yet, there were some that brought a tug of sorrow to my heart; circumstances and things that have happened that I may never understand fully, and that even now I wish had not come to pass, but have taught me something today.

Upon looking back to those times, I realize that the sorrow in the loss of those things is proof that there was a love in it all. It is a loss because it was loved. I am thankful for all those things that have been loved and lost because they show just how precious each day is. Treasure the people in your life, you never know how long they will be there. When things are good, thank God. When circumstances become hard, thank God that this too will pass and for the beauty that He will graciously bring out of it.

2012 was an incredible year of growth filled with adventures and little blessings. In 2013, I see more to be. My personal challenge is to live each day embracing fully what God has given in it.

“This is the day that the Lord has made, let us  rejoice and be glad in it.”  Psalm 118:24 

What are some of your favorite memories and how do they impact your life today? In what way will you challenge yourself each day this year?

Leave a Reply

