Success is…

This is a response inspired by Mary DeMuth’s post on measuring success. Mary’s post made me think about what my definition of success is. This is what I came up with:

SuccessDefinition

Success is: knowing that at the end of the day, what you exchanged a day of your life for made a difference in the Kingdom.

That picture is from my first missions trip a few years back to New York City. I went expecting to change and to bless lives; I came back changed and blessed. Something that really hit me while in New York was the stark contrast between the rich city life and just a few blocks away the poor neighborhoods. There is basically no middle class. You either have or you don’t.

The girl in the picture touched my heart in such a way I can’t express. Our first day on the streets we got to spend with a group of kids in an extremely run-down neighborhood.  The kids were so excited when our group came. We spent the whole day with them. I wish it could have been the whole week. It took just moments to fall in love with these kids! Many of them cried when we had to leave.

This is where I learned just how love makes all the difference in the world. This girl, Breanna, she touched my heart – even now, I still pray for her. I know that my day with her made a difference in her life – it made a difference in the Kingdom.

How do you define success? Can you tell of a time when you  have you been successful?

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim Teamer
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 09:58:27

    This was both beautiful and inspiring. I confess that it brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for sharing from your heart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

