Treasury Identity: You are Not What You Own

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on the earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

Matthew 6:19-21

 I like stuff.

Some people may call some of that stuff, “junk”, but to me it means something. I am not a hoarder, but I save anything with a meaning. I have old birthday and graduation cards, little friendship gifts with notes that were signed “friends forever,” and yet we are no longer a part of each other’s lives. Boxes, trinkets, notebooks, pictures – I like to have these things to look back and remember. I like to have my box (or perhaps a closet) of stuff. Most of it has little physical value, although there is some jewelry and a few things that might have some worth to someone else. I don’t believe I have to worry about thieves in that regard. But these things won’t last forever.

There are too many I have seen who attach who they are to what they have. They must have the most expensive cars and everything they own needs to be top-of-the-line. The problem is not with the possessions themselves, but with the heart intent of having them. God loves to bless His children and He will provide every need and wants to bless us beyond our necessity. If we set our hearts on the blessings and possessions, and attach our identity to this physical treasury, we are making ourselves vulnerable to loss. You are not what you own. Don’t depend on temporary things for your heart’s security.

In the midst of all that stuff, I have a record of my spiritual journey and the places that God has brought me from and the revelations that He has given me over the years of who He is. I don’t need those Bibles and journals to remember what He did or where He brought me from, but they’re a reminder of where my treasure is and who holds my heart. Your true identity and security can only be found in Him who never fails and who never changes. Let your treasure be found in the mysteries of who God is and in the wonder and beauty of His holiness and His character. “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also…”

Leave a Reply

