Rock of the Ages

I woke up this morning with an old hymn going through my head. You may or may not be familiar with it – Rock of Ages. Just the familiar tune reminded me of when I was little and my siblings and I would crowd on the couch with my mother and we would sing a few hymns and pray and read the Bible together. Those were the simple days, (at least they were for me,) where the biggest concerns were who got the blue dum-dum when we went through the bank drive-through or whose turn it was to have a sleep over at Nana and Pap’s house.

These days my concerns are bigger (in my eyes) than the ones I had as a child. It seems that I have a long to-do list with a short amount of time. And that may be true, but even more-so, His grace is sufficient and the sufficiency of Christ is more than enough for me.

It wouldn’t be hard to overwhelm myself with the details or with commitments and deadlines – but what good is that? What good is it to get so caught up in what I do that I forget why I do it. Is not all for the glory of God? At times that can mean putting my “to-do” to the wayside, and putting my “being” at His feet simply to worship Him and to be with Him. 

Sometimes life can get messy and unpredictable. Situations you find yourself in can get hard and you can get hurt or find yourself confused and lost. You’re pushing yourself to the max but to no avail. It’s those times you need to take a deep breath, put your “to-do” to the side and sit as His feet. God is the only constant in this life – He’s the Rock of the ages. Recognize Him in the midst of what you’re going through.

rockofages2

How are you feeling today? Are you tired, stressed, anxious? Are you busy, distracted, concerned? Are you frightful, lonely or hurt?

“3 You will keep him in perfect peace,

Whose mind is stayed on You,

Because He trusts in You.

4 Trust in the Lord forever,

For in YAH, the Lord, is everlasting strength.” 

Isaiah 26:3-4 (NKJV)

No matter how you are feeling, remember God is still on the throne. He sees and cares about the situation you’re in. When you recognize where He is, those feelings will melt away and peace will follow.


“2 The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer;

My God, my strength, in whom I will trust;

My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

3 I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised;

So shall I be saved from my enemies.”

Psalm 18:2-3 (NKJV)

Related Posts:

She Smiles at the Future

The Color Purple

The Heart of the Psalms

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacy Lee Ketter
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 09:53:02

    This made me smile. 🙂

    Reply

    • Brittany Ketter
      Mar 19, 2013 @ 10:06:36

      Glad to hear that, Momma. 🙂
      Forgot to mention when we’d argue over who got to sit next to you when you would read to us, or who got to lick the cake batter off the beaters, or who got the last sip of the coke we shared at Wendy’s. I could go on. And just thinking of all those little things makes me smile.
      Love you, Momma!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

