When A Woman Finds Her Voice: Community and the Wall

I am privileged to be part of Jo Ann Fore’s launch team for her soon-to-be-released book entitled: “When A Woman Finds Her Voice”.  In addition, I also have the privilege of being part of Mary DeMuth’s launch team for her upcoming book, “The Wall Around Your Heart: How Jesus Heals You When Others Hurt You”. 

Both of these books, excellent reads, seem to go hand-in-hand. They compliment each other beautifully.

Community can be a tricky thing – at times, it can be what hurts you, other times it is what helps you. Something that I read in Everything by Mary DeMuth, is that at times, God asks we heal by walking into the very thing that wounded us. When we hurt, naturally we want to shrink back, nurse our wounds and keep to ourselves. This is exactly what the enemy wants is to keep us isolated. Community is so important!

In When A Woman Finds Her Voice, Jo Ann shares that, “God designed us for intimate community with each other. He wants us to do life together, sharing both our successes and our struggles.” 

You might be thinking that I’m crazy, (and maybe that we’re all crazy) with the thought that, “so you want me to walk right back into what hurt me?!” Yes and No. As Mary says in “The Wall Around Your Heart”: “Community does not always represent heartache. God uses people to heal us, to be agents of reconciliation. Finding true community can be amazing.” Years ago I was hurt by a group of people I saw as my friends. We shared many ups and downs and dreams. But eventually I was left in the dust. Then a few years ago when I went to school, I found a group of people that helped me to see that there is such a thing as true community. It was there that I found healing for what I thought was lost years prior. And even after leaving school and all of us going our separate ways, there is still a love that we found for each other. Many of us keep in touch, and although not all of us do, we still couldn’t have done without each other for those years.

Which brings me to something that Jo Ann wrote in, When A Woman Finds Her Voice – Hiding won’t protect our hearts forever. No matter how high our walls, someone will eventually find us.” 

When you’re hurt by people, trust doesn’t come easy. But it is true. Eventually, someone will find you. Opening up in true community brings healing.

Check out Jo Anne’s book here: When A Woman Finds Her Voice

and Mary’s book here: The Wall Around Your Heart

You will be blessed!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Carole Lee
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 19:57:08

    I am 66 years young. I have lived long enough now to have been through much of what you have said, both in these two books and in your own life, Brittany. Many times, the Lord does take us back to “face the giants” so to speak….face the pain, face the hurt and rejection, but then with His healing grace, it is important to move on. As we move, we heal more and more. Then we realize that it has not been in vain as we are able to say to someone else “I have walked in your shoes. Take my hand and I will walk with you. Our God is a healing God”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

